About the Curriculum

The Central Board for Secondary Education (CBSE) is a standardized curriculum offered in more than 24 countries across the world. As of 01-05-2019, it has 21271 schools in India and 228 schools in 25 foreign countries. There are 1138 Kendriya Vidyalayas, 3011 Government/Aided Schools, 16741 Independent Schools, 595 Jawahar Novodaya Vidyalayas and 14 Central Tibetan Schools.

Some salient features of this curriculum are:-

  • The syllabus is very structured and controlled as it makes use of standardized Textbooks.
  • No child can fail a class till 8th grade
  • Most entrance exams conducted in the country for college admission follow this syllabus.
  • Favoured by those who constantly relocate within India or even abroad to countries in the Middle East etc. and seek a standardized curriculum
  • Favoured by those who want to go into the traditional routes of Engineering/medical.
  • It encompasses nine major learning areas, which are: Languages, Humanities, Mathematics, Science and Technology, General Studies, and Health and Physical Education.
  • These areas are broadly divided into two, i.e.
  • Scholastic Areas which are Languages, Humanities, Mathematics, Science and Technology, General Studies and Co-scholastic areas which are Health and Physical Education.

Objectives of the Curriculum

    The Curriculum aims to:

  • Achieve cognitive, affective and psychomotor excellence;
  • Enhance self-awareness and explore innate potential;
  • Promote Life Skills, goal setting, and lifelong learning;
  • Inculcate values and foster cultural learning and international understanding in an inter dependent society;
  • Acquire the ability to utilize technology and information for the betterment of man-kind;
  • Strengthen knowledge and attitude related to livelihood skills;
  • Develop the ability to appreciate art and to show-case talents;
  • Promote physical fitness, health and well-being.
  • Promote arts integrated learning.